Royal Rumble 2017 Predictions

The Royal Rumble, my favourite WWE pay-per-view is back for the 30th time. The elimination match is always a spectacle and will be a mega one this year. We’ve had a lot of major names announced and I love that the surprises can range from a NXT call up to a returning legend. Let’s get to predictions and see how the event may play out.

20170123_kickoff_sasha_nia-45372c11dbea6cd9350789bb16399cfe

The Royal Rumble will be nearly six hours long with a two hour kickoff show. On the kickoff show we have the first of three women’s matches which is great to see more women getting a chance to perform. Unfortunately this match only has my interest as I’m a fan of Sasha Banks who I don’t see winning this one.

WINNER: NIA JAX

20170123_kickoff_cesarosheamus_karlluke-ff2659d03e9a2c68ff356f6247855160

If Gallows and Anderson lose this match straight up in a match that serves their best interest than it’s time for new scenery; SmackDown or out of the WWE.

WINNERS: GALLOWS & ANDERSON

20170123_royalrumble_women-89b137b00109242906bd7e1011c44bc7

Six women tag match will further the feuds of Nikki/Natalya and Becky/Mickie but where does that leave champion Alexa Bliss? Look for Naomi’s team to win this one.

WINNER: NAOMI, NIKKI BELLA & BECKY LYNCH

20170109_royalrumble_swannneville-274ced054bbca3800f44d49940bf87bf

I was really excited to see Rich Swann win the Cruiserweight championship as he’d been one of my favourites in the CWC. Now that he is champion I haven’t see any progression or evolution in his character or his arsenal of maneuvers. Contrarily, Neville has drastically changed his character and appears reinvigorated to take over this division. I think Neville will win this one and Swann and the rest of the division challenges him in an effort to dethrone the King of the Cruiserweights.

WINNER: NEVILLE

20170109_royalrumble_owensroman-bc77331e13a3a047e23e11d8042adcff

I wish I cared more about the WWE Universal title more than I do. Unfortunately for both men, they’ve been featured in matches against one another in the entire build to this match that it leaves you as a fan with limited interest. I think Chris Jericho being locked away in a Shark cage won’t stop Owens from retaining in this one. I hope they keep the title on Owens because Reigns winning just doesn’t make any sense to me as I have NEVER heard Reigns’ reasoning for wanting to be champion (furthering how un-relatable this character is) . I think Jericho finally winning the United States title recently leads to Jericho identifying that he has one more title to win for the first time and that is Owens’ WWE Universal title! Will this lead to a Reigns change in attitude?

WINNER: KEVIN OWENS

20170102_royalrumble_charlottebayley-e61d90cd20c215a735e1a8ea1cf74352

I do think that this feud has potential to be one of the top feuds going into Wrestlemania. The story here is that Charlotte and Bayley are complete opposites. If you think back to NXT when Sasha and Bayley met, both women played their antagonist and protagonist roles to perfection. It was so emotional seeing Bayley triumph and after being ridiculed and working so hard to achieve her dreams. I believe Charlotte is currently a better villain then Sasha was at that time. Charlotte is from wrestling-royalty lineage and has won like no other competitor on the roster when its comes to big time matches. Bayley has fought hard but hasn’t won the big one when its mattered. I think it remains early for Bayley to win at the Rumble but a hard fought match with an underhanded win by Charlotte will build the desire to see Bayley overcome and finally win the title she covets.

WINNER: CHARLOTTE

20170117_royalrumble_ajcena-a2b47e1293bb49dd5314e30d4599a961

Both men have had great matches throughout 2016 and here we are kicking 2017 off with hopefully yet another classic. I would have preferred this match at Wrestlemania but here we have it. I originally thought Cena was winning his 16th championship but given the “exchange” of words on SmackDown I don’t think it is wise for Styles to lose this one. Styles unfortunately will have to once again defend this title in an Elimination Chamber and perhaps that’s where Cena wins.

WINNER: AJ STYLES

20170123_royalrumble-3286103f97c9ab6780b8d9108805165e

RUMBLE ENTRANTS:

bold-unannounced

  1. The Undertaker
  2. Goldberg
  3. Brock Lesnar
  4. Big Show
  5. Dean Ambrose
  6. The Miz
  7. Sami Zayn
  8. Dolph Ziggler
  9. Big E
  10. Xavier Woods
  11. Kofi Kingston
  12. Bray Wyatt
  13. Randy Orton
  14. Luke Harper
  15. Mojo Rawley
  16. Braun Strowman
  17. Chris Jericho
  18. Baron Corbin
  19. Cesaro
  20. Sheamus
  21. Big Cass
  22. Rusev
  23. Apollo Crews
  24. James Ellsworth
  25. Samoa Joe
  26. Tye Dillinger
  27. Jason Jordan
  28. Chad Gable
  29. Enzo Amore
  30. Sycho Sid

I can’t wait to see many of these superstars make their way to the ring in this one. It will be exciting to see the countdown and then hear the music of the Undertaker, Brock Lesnar and Goldberg. Additionally, I think WWE should be commended for how they’ve made it seem that Braun Strowman and Baron Corbin are also among potential favourites in this match. I’m excited to see who from NXT may be in this match; two names being Tye Dillinger entering at number 10 and a Samoa Joe debut. I’d also be ecstatic if I heard “GLORIOUS!”and Bobby Roode made his way to the Rumble. I can’t think of any legends I’m clamoring to see. I wish Vader was in better health cause he’d be a fun entrant and I don’t know if Sycho Sid is available to return to the building he main evented 20 years ago. So who is winning the Royal Rumble? Honestly, I’d be disappointed if the Undertaker or Goldberg won cause they are already mega stars. I’ll go with a dark horse in this one!

WINNER: BARON CORBIN

 

Leave a Reply

